“Duniya ko Mathhi” (On Top of The World) at Poon Hill, Nepal

poon hill
After a thirty minutes rest, Sujan and I began our ascend to Poon Hill. Like many other hikers resting at the village of Ghorephani, our aim is to end the day with a sunset view of Annapurna Mountain Range, so we need to hurry up to reach the peak just on time.

The path is not very difficult compare to what I walked six hours ago and the view is getting better and better as we reach higher elevation.
poon hill
poon hill
poon hill

I remember the excitement among all trekkers that day, as if we are about to achieve something no one has done before. There was even a point that everyone was rushing, running across the trail, sensing that every minute counts or else we will miss the opportunity to see the sun as it slowly bid farewell for the day and hide behind the snow capped glory of Annapurna mountain range.
poon hill
poon hill

During daytime, a fee of 25 rupees is collected at the gate at the middle portion of trail. The fee collected is not only use for trail maintenance but to help fund the village school.
poon hill

It is easy to scale how close we are to the peak. The cellular tower and the view of observation deck are our two primary guide as we continue to climb our way up.
poon hill
poon hill

Few meters prior reaching the peak of Poon Hill, a small stone was placed by a husband remembering her wife. The dedication was simple yet each word bears such strong emotion of life celebrated and love.
poon hill
poon hill

Finally.
poon hill
poon hill

There are moments in life when you feel most alive, when all your senses are open to absorb anything around you, if someone ask me to catch and hold the air on the palm of my hand I might believe that I could, I have to say that this is what I exactly felt while standing small against these mountains.
poon hill
poon hill
poon hill
poon hill
poon hill

Right after sunset, just in time before it gets too dark, me, my guide and the rest of the trekkers began our descend to the village of Ghorephani were most of us will be staying for the night.

I spend my evening at the guesthouse common room sitting around the fireplace, chatting with the other visitors. What I enjoyed the most are the legendary stories from the guides and porters. One of the stories I recall was how one famous Korean climber who conquered Everest perished together with his two guides on their attempt to climb Annapurna Two.

I asked them if they have any friends or knew someone who passed away doing the job, one of the guide took a small notebook from his pocket and show me the list of names and dates of acquaintances who perished trying to reach the peak of these magnificent mountains.
poon hill

Day 2:
Ullire – Nangatati – Ghorephani – Poon Hill

9 thoughts on ““Duniya ko Mathhi” (On Top of The World) at Poon Hill, Nepal

  1. You are indeed a special person. Sharing your wonderful and blissful moments on those sacred mountains, with the general readers, is a great deed. Thanks once again. I will come and visit these pages again and again, when I want to view Annapurna.

  2. Stunning shots of the mountains.

    I like to hike whenever I get a chance, but confined to the western ghats until now, and Himalaya is still a dream.

    I always wanted to do this hike, and your blog really inspires me to do it as early as possible.

    Thanks a lot for sharing.

  3. I love the last shoot, i don’t know why… but i love it!
    The place is wonderful, the article was written very well and the photos are beautiful!
    Compliments for all!

    1. I can understand why.. I love it too πŸ™‚
      the two men sitting are both hiking guides, I love how peaceful they are after another long day of climbing the same route.

Leave a Reply

