Nepalese Kids and Mountain Villages: From Ullire to Ghorephani, Day Two Hiking in Nepal

nepal day 2 hike
My sleeping bag is now my best friend. It is my cocoon, it is my home away from home, and without it I don’t know how I can even rest.

The mountain teahouse were we spent the night is acceptably clean though the weather was freezing cold and showering on rather lukewarm water did not help either, I feel that my teeth is about to fall apart. Nonetheless, these small inconveniences are nothing compare to the amazing view to greet my day.
nepal day 2 hike

After breakfast, at exactly 8 am, we started our walk. As explained by Sujan, today will be another six hours of “bistare, bistare” (slowly, slowly) trek though it will be easier and enjoyable compare to yesterday since we will be passing by a forest area.

It was a beautiful day indeed, the sky is clear and the surrounding smell is so fresh, if I can describe my ideal morning to wake up to this has to be it.
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike

We began our ascend towards the upper part of Ullire, passing by more teahouses and villagers home.

At early in the morning, just right after the sunrise and after having their favourite Dal Baht breakfast, most Nepalese are already quite busy attending to their daily task.
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike

Standing at the door at one of the cliff side home we passed by is this beautiful little girl looking quietly maybe towards his father who is now busily carrying construction materials to build another teahouse.
nepal day 2 hike

Houses at the mountainside of Nepal is very simple, with huge portion of space is allocated for livelihood use, whether to allocate place for their crops or to convert portion of their homes into a guesthouse for additional income.
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike

I would encourage anyone who is planning to do similar trip to patronize these mountain side accomodation. I know we aspire to be the best budget traveler out there, to maybe go rugged and sleep on a tent but when you think about it, the small fee we pay for an overnight stay at the teahouse is similar to helping a family send this little girl to school.
nepal day 2 hike

Short rest, short stop, to give way to the Sherpa and his horses.
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike

Finally, entering the forest portion of the route.
With the shades of greenery and the nurturing sound of the river flowing, it was still a challenging walk but way better compare to yesterday.
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike

A coffee break one of the teahouse we passed by. I played peek-a-boo at the owner’s son playing at the door. I really loved Nepalese kids; they are always happy, smiling and welcoming to strangers like me.
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike

Lunchbreak at Nangalati. The offered food at every teahouse is always the same, as explained by Sujan the menu is actually regulated by the government.
I have another fried noodles and eggs and more eggs, please.
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike

Preparing our lunch is the lady of the house wearing a red dot in her forehead. I asked my guide Sujan about its symbolism in Nepali culture. He told me that a married woman is expected to always wear one and will only stop once her husband has passed away.

Sensing that I was fascinated with red dot, the lady return and placed one in my forehead. Apart from just placing it, she even caressed my face for a few seconds, as if blessing me at the same time. I was touched by the affection and began calling her my Nepali mother which she gladly accepts.

The goal was to reach the village of Ghorepani (2280m) by 2pm to gave enough time to rest and use the reminder of the afternoon for a sunset view climb to Poon hill.

A red dot on my forehead, pushing myself further, climbing up and up, my backpack still a burden..
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike

More steps to go and the mid-afternoon sun rays radiating an autumn ambiance.
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike

My heart skip a little due to excitement. I can see the gate that welcomes us to the village of Ghorepani. Almost there.
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike

A bookshop at the village of Ghorepani!
Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer has to be one of the most read for many who are trekking across Nepal. I’ve seen a lot of trekkers reading it and if you go to any bookshop in Nepal, there will always be a copy either brand new or second hand.
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike

The greatest rewards of a six hours walk is not only reaching your destination but finally relaxing my feet up to an amazing view on my window.
nepal day 2 hike
nepal day 2 hike

