Sydney Opera House & Harbour Bridge, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

DSCF2103

I am intrigued with Australia, I’ve seen many amazing photos on the internet and some of my friends who called this country home have nothing but love for this nation, so I wanted to experience it myself and have my own Australia story to share.
sydney
sydney

But I only have a week to once again temporarily escape the struggles and frustration that work has become and Australia is huge, so I have to narrow down this trip to two destinations – Sydney and Melbourne.
sydney
sydney

I arrived in Sydney during summer, not my favorite season to travel but not an important reason not to enjoy the best of the city either. I struggled sometimes to do the usual city walks given how humid it was, but once you’ ve got a glimpse of the famous Sydney Opera House and The Harbour Bridge, it validates that I have made the right choice travel.
sydney
sydney

The public transport system in Sydney is reliable and easy to use, the metro can bring you to any touristy area you wanted to see, but on any new places, out of habit, I found myself mostly walking around, trying to discover every street corner for something that will personally define to me what the city is about. As a solo female traveler, I felt safe exploring Sydney on my own , it is orderly and quiet.
sydney
sydney
sydney
sydney
sydney
sydney

I strolled the Darling Harbour, spent half day visiting various museums which are mostly free to enter, checked out Paddy’s Market, Strand Arcade and Chinatown, had my photo taken with a koala at Taronga Zoo, smelled the roses and finished a book at the Royal Botanic Gardens, explored the Rocks and ended up the day at the Sydney Observatory for the view, but the one that made my experience really complete is walking the Harbour Bridge.
sydney
sydney
sydney
sydney
sydney
sydney
sydney
sydney

The free pedestrian walkway of the Harbour Bridge is more than enough to see how beautiful the Sydney coast is, but if you want to elevate the experience, there is always the Pylon Lookout and the expensive Bridge Climb. The free walk starts from the Bridge Stairs at The Rock, and it will take at least 20 minutes to walk one way but heavily dependent on how frequent you wanted to stop to savor and photograph the view.
sydney
sydney
sydney
sydney
sydney
sydney

Made this as a must activity, allocate time when visiting Sydney and walk all the way towards Milsons Point and Luna Park. The view from Milsons Point is my favorite and here was where i’ve realized how beautiful Sydney is.

Until now, when I think of Sydney, I always remember the afternoon walk at Harbour Bridge.
sydney
sydney
sydney

One thought on “Sydney Opera House & Harbour Bridge, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

  1. I had the same memory of Sydney, walking the Harbour Bridge was the best experience in my short 1.5 days there. It is somehow magical looking down at the city below, especially during the golden hours.

Leave a comment