Kathmandu to Pokhara Trip & Afternoons at Phewa Tal, Pokhara, Nepal

on the way to pokhara
Aboard the six hours bus journey from Kathmandu I was excited to reach the town of Pokhara. I read quite a lot of positive feedback about this town, ranging from clean guesthouses (with guaranteed hot shower) and wide range of good restaurants. Apart from that, the main reason why I was really looking forward on reaching Pokhara is because it is the jumping point for most hiking in Nepal.

Before I show to you the rest of my day at Pokhara allow me to share with you my experience across the road.
on the way to pokhara

On one of the unplanned stop over that we had due to the bus having flat tires, I was standing patiently waiting across a small store selling snacks and drinks when this generous Nepalese grandma offered me a sit and called all his grandkids to attend to me.

The kids are quite happy to see several foreign faces, I guess it is very seldom that a bus carrying mostly tourist often stopped on their shop, since it is a known practice for most bus operators to do stop over only on they chosen “affiliated” stores or canteens.
on the way to pokhara
on the way to pokhara
on the way to pokhara

With nothing else to do but to wait for the bus, I spent a few minutes playing with the kids and allow them to use my camera and in return I ask them to take a photo with me and flash the “V” sign I learned to do so well in Japan.
on the way to pokhara

Seems like we had serious flat tires issue and it took so long to get it replaced, so I make used of the time for some photography opportunity.
on the way to pokhara
on the way to pokhara
on the way to pokhara
on the way to pokhara
on the way to pokhara

I wanted to sleep during the journey but seeing the mix of sceneries along the road was relaxing enough. It feels good to finally be out in the open once again, even as colourful and fascinating city like Kathmandu can be too much sometimes.
on the way to pokhara
on the way to pokhara

A glimpse of the snow capped mountain range in the background is an indication that we are almost there.
on the way to pokhara
on the way to pokhara
on the way to pokhara

At around 3pm, the bus finally reached the tourist bus terminal of Pokhara. Since I prearranged my hotel and hiking when I was at Kathmandu, there was a free pick up car waiting for me.

I decided to spend the rest of the afternoon strolling along the Lake side area of Pokhara where concentration of hotels, guesthouses and other businesses are located.

Lake side usually refers to the fact of being located exactly beside the famous freshwater lake called Phewa Tal (Phewa Lake/Fewa Lake).
phewa tal
phewa tal

Misty afternoon is best spent gazing at the waters of Phewa Tal. The line of violet color boats (sponsored by telco company called Ncell)and the illusion of endless lake water and small mountains along the horizon is so beautiful that all I wanted to do is sit and stare until the sun disappears.
phewa tal
phewa tal
phewa tal
phewa tal

The simplicity of Phewa Tal is actually what makes it charming. Though there are few restaurants along the shore area, still it doesn’t ruin the ambiance of calmness.
phewa tal
phewa tal
phewa tal
phewa tal
phewa tal

Tomorrow is Day 1 of hiking along the Gorephani-Poonhil trail, Wish me luck.

15 thoughts on “Kathmandu to Pokhara Trip & Afternoons at Phewa Tal, Pokhara, Nepal

  1. I stayed in Pokhara 25 years ago and the lake area still looks the same. It had such an impact on me that a couple of years ago I painted the lake and the canoes. You have also focused on them – there is really something so beautiful and peaceful about that area. It was great to see the place again through a current lens.

  2. It’s stunning, breatthaking photography as always. I’d like to pack my bag and go. Right away!
    Greetings from the Rhine Valley
    Dina

  3. The picture with the glimpse of the snow capped mountain is truly beautiful. It’s just floating there in the background, almost holy-like. And thank you for the amazing series of Nepal blog posts. I have already made my decision as to where to go next.

Leave a Reply

