Watsons Bay and Manly Beach, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

DSCF3257

A short ferry ride from Circular Quay or a bus ride from Bondi will lead you to one of Sydney most beautiful and peaceful neighborhood, the Watsons Bay. A contrast to the popular Bondi Beach, here, life is slower and calmer, even a few hours visit does bring that sense of relaxation.

The truth is I went to Watsons Bay just for the Hornby Lighthouse, and the plan was go see it and leave immediately afterwards, but I actually love how refreshing the area is, perhaps the less touristic side is what appeal to me the most, that I spent more than what I initially plan just to walk around, admire the view and jaw drops on those million dollar waterfront houses.
sydney
sydney

From the ferry wharf, I made my way to the Gap ,for an impressive ocean cliff view on the South Head peninsula in eastern Sydney. From the Gap the South Head Heritage Trail continues, leading directly towards the lighthouse. The trail is easy to follow, the magnificent view of the Tasman Sea created an enjoyable even more.
sydney
sydney

After a few minutes walk, I arrived at the tip of the trail, where Hornby Lighthouse is. A popular hangout for sunset gazing, built in 1858, the iconic red and white striped tower perched on a hill makes it the perfect spot to rest for a while and contemplate things.
sydney
sydney
sydney
sydney

Instead of walking the same way back, I took the trail that will lead me towards Camp Cove, a small family friendly beach area, passing by many amazing lookouts to see Sydney Harbour from afar and the Lady Bay Beach which permits nude bathing.
sydney
sydney
sydney

With enough time left for the day, I decided to head to Manly Beach.

From the ferry terminal, walking via the shopping area of the Corso, the golden shore of Manly Beach and the surrounding suburb area is another beach destination in Sydney that is worth the ferry trip.
I took the popular short, scenic stroll along the jagged coastline from the main beach area towards the Shelly Beach, which provides a glimpse of the beautiful shorelines.
sydney
sydney
sydney
sydney

I ended my day back at Manly Beach, sitting on a park bench, eating ice cream and enjoying the view. A lifeguard sat beside me, he was on a break, we talked about his job. One thing I remember from the whole conversation was he could not think of any other job in this world, but this being a lifeguard, where he is exactly at the place where he feels most alive.
sydney
sydney

Leave a comment