Nyaung Shwe, Inle Lake, Myanmar

inle lake
From Bagan, I made my way to my next destination Inle Lake via an eight hour long bus ride. Instead of leaving at night, I took the day trip that will arrive at Nyaung Shwe, the closest town to Inle lake at around four in the afternoon.

After spending almost the whole day sitting at the bus , with intervals of daydreaming or reading Ready Player One, the view of Nyaung Shwe as we enter the Inle Lake Zone is a literal breath of fresh air, obviously far from the dusty plains of Bagan.

The air is cooler, the township is surrounded by mountains and farm fields and I can see portions of the lake itself. All these make me so excited and realize that I might have made the right decision to skip spending a day in Mandalay and instead devote the remainder of my travel at Inle Lake.
inle
inle
inle

The township of Nyaung Shwe possibly has the most laid back vibe as compare to Yangon or Bagan. I think this town is the closest to what the usual backpacker or tourist town in Myanmar, where it is easy to find pancakes for breakfast and possibly a various scales of accommodations, from family owned guesthouses to expensive hotels.
inle
inle
inle
inle
inle

I stayed at The Song of Travel Hostel, which was a bit way off town, but the price and helpfulness of the staff plus the free use of bicycle was good enough for me.
inle
inle
inle

With the rest of the afternoon and once again on bicycle, I explored the town of Nyaung Shwe and was greeted by several friendly local faces and an amazing sunset view.
inle
inle
inle

For the final agenda of the day, I arranged a boat trip for the next day.
inle
inle

3 thoughts on “Nyaung Shwe, Inle Lake, Myanmar

Leave a Reply

