Brooklyn Bridge, New York City, USA

nyc
There are moments when we travel that defines a particular place or a particular time in our life. In some cases, it is not what we anticipated it will be and usually it comes in a most unexpected way.

I like those moments, a time when your heart skips a beat and there comes a sudden realization that you are at the very place you always wanted to see.

For me, my defining moment in New York is walking the Brooklyn Bridge.
nyc

Though I anticipated that sitting at one of the park benches at Central Park will be my New York moment, it was in fact crossing the Brooklyn Bridge that left a lasting impression. Nowadays, if a friend ask me about my New York trip, I often respond with a wide smile and a flashback in my head about that golden hour spend walking the bridge from Brooklyn side all the way to Manhattan.
nyc

I boarded the train bound for Brooklyn, alight at the Clark Street station and made my way to Brooklyn Heights Promenade passing by the brownstone apartments that is often associated with Brooklyn.
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc

In a way I understand why many people decide to reside in Brooklyn, the ambiance is more laid back and homey, as if all you wanted to do after a day’s work in the city is to go home to Brooklyn, walk your dog or go for a run. The mood at the promenade and surrounding DUMBO was festive, which I assume is always the case.
nyc
nyc
nyc

There is no doubt that the view of the skyscrapers of Manhattan across the East River as the sun is about to bid farewell for the day is one of the magical moment to witness in New York.
nyc

The Pedestrian and Bicycle access at Brooklyn side is easy to find, passing by the famous Grimaldi’s Pizza, walking the Old Fulton Street all the way to Cadman Plaza East.
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc

It takes approximately an hour to walk from one side to the other, with some parts that both the pedestrians and bicycle pathway are narrow , so it is important to be aware of the actions and sounds at the bridge.
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc

Maybe it was a combination of perfect weather and perfect timing, but for some reason it seems that the universe aligned to give me one perfect moment, whereby for a certain period I let go of all inhibitions associated with this trip, for once I was not rushing from one place to another in order to see everything that the city is about, for once I feel like that all the hard work I put it in for the past years to save money for this trip finally paid off.
nyc
nyc
nyc

When the distant buildings of Manhattan started to light up, the view of the Empire State Building and the Manhattan Bridge across, as if reaffirming that I am finally in one of the greatest city in the world, New York City.
nyc
nyc
nyc

10 thoughts on “Brooklyn Bridge, New York City, USA

Leave a Reply

