Roaming the Big Apple, New York City, USA

nyc
There are so many things to do and see in New York City.

Time just passed by so easily and even with Unlimited Ride Metro Card which technically makes moving around convenient, each hour, each day is always not enough to grasp every beat that makes the city great.

More than the observatories, the parks and the museums, if there is one thing that I enjoyed the most about New York is just aimlessly roaming around; to be one of those people walking really fast on Broadway, walking with such determination and purpose, a rhythm that is quite difficult to keep up with specifically if you are a visitor like me, for which the mere sight of yellow cabs and Ed Sullivan Theater makes me giddy with happiness.

After all, what’s wrong with that? Back home, my kind of relaxation involves watching The Late Show with Stephen Colbert on YouTube and to find myself technically standing outside the theater is surreal, only if I can watch the show live.
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc

Though I had planned places to see each day, tried to categorize them per area and subway ride accessibility, sometimes I just ended up looping around the same street or the same neighborhood, like the time I tried to find Holly Golightly Breakfast at Tiffany’s apartment building, only later on to realize that I have passed the same 169 East 71st Street many times.

I spend a beautiful autumn morning at Columbia University, a midday at SoHo and late afternoon on Wall Street with a girl from Los Angeles who like me was on this trip as a birthday gift to herself.
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc

Then the next day, a morning at Union Square, then walked a few blocks to admire the beautiful Flatiron Building, queued up for a Shake Shack at Madison Square Park, then back to Lincoln Center and once again ending up somewhere in 7th Avenue in search of Carnegie Hall, then walk all the way to Times Square.
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc

Times Square is like the tourist gravitational pull, no matter how I tried to avoid it, I ended up in Times Square. A place to pass the time, to eavesdrop as other tourists asked roaming police officers where exactly they drop the ball during the New Year countdown celebration and maybe to shop for a Broadway show to watch. I wanted to see them all if I could, if I have the budget, but I set myself to one show only and I chose An American in Paris.

But no matter how fast pace New York is, there are certain places in the city that commands you to slow down.

Like sitting down at The Met (The Metropolitan Museum of Art) steps before admiring the collection in the museum.
nyc
nyc
nyc

Entering the international territory at The United Nations Headquarters, then learning about the works of the organization and having my passport stamped with official UN logo.
nyc
nyc

Then finally, the inspiring, timeless and classic beauty that is Grand Central Terminal.
nyc
nyc
nyc
nyc

4 thoughts on “Roaming the Big Apple, New York City, USA

    1. thanks Lyn! such a great city with so many things to see and do, for sure you will enjoy it. have a great day 🙂

  1. Lovely! Thank you for putting into words the exhilarating and awe-inspiring feelings of exploring the city. It reminded me of my own roaming adventures in Seoul. Reading this, it was almost as if I had just roamed the Big Apple.

    1. thank you very much! one of the best feeling in the world is walking around foreign city and for a moment to feel as if you belong 😉

Leave a Reply

