Hofburg Palace & St. Stephen’s Cathedral (Stephansdom) Vienna, Austria

vienna
My visit in Vienna was blessed with beautiful weather- bright blue sky with the breeze and color of late autumn.

As great as the weather was, Vienna is truly a remarkable city. Experiencing the city in a way made me understand why time and again the city is always included in one of those “best cities to live” list.
vienna
vienna

With a rich imperial history, known for theater, opera and classical music, “Elegant” is the best word to use when describing the capital city of Austria.
vienna

I cannot think of any other city in the world where statues are more than just a mere adornment that people often overlooked, for in Vienna these statues are integral part of city’s story and image.
vienna
vienna
vienna
vienna

Whether you take the Ring Tram or maybe a horse-drawn carriage to see Vienna, it is always good to begin the city exploration at the Hofburg – Imperial Palace.
vienna

Hofburg Palace is the center of everything royal, luxurious and powerful associated with its creator and original resident, the Habsburg Empire.
vienna
vienna
vienna
vienna

With the Sisi Museum, the Imperial Apartment, the Silver Collection, the Spanish Riding School, the Kunsthistorisches Museum (Art History Museum) and the State Hall-National Library inside the palace complex, the Hofburg is like a one-stop shop for anyone who wants to learn everything about the city imperial past.
vienna
vienna
vienna
vienna
vienna

The one that captures my imagination and attention above all else was learning the life of the beautiful and yet frequently misunderstood Elisabeth of Austria or popularly known as “Sisi” at the museum devoted to her.
vienna

Even with good public transportation system, Vienna is still best explored on foot.

From the Hofburg Palace, the rest of the city remarkable sightseeing destination such as the art complex of Museum Quartier and the architecture of the Rathaus (Town Hall), a building serving as the seat for both mayor and city council, are all within a walking distance.
vienna
vienna
vienna
vienna
vienna
vienna
vienna
vienna
vienna
vienna
vienna

At the end of each day, I often find myself heading back to the busy Stephansplatz area and spend the rest of my time within the vicinity of St. Stephen’s Cathedral (Stephansdom).

With the ornately patterned, glazed tiled roof and 136 meters tower as its formidable feature, although some parts are under construction, St.Stephen’s Cathedral is a beautiful Gothic church.
vienna
vienna
vienna
vienna
vienna
vienna

In the evening, with dimmed lights, few candles burning and obviously less people around, the church is a refuge of solitude, a true home for those who were weary and tired from the events of the day.
vienna

Though travelling is an exciting affair, a temporary detachment from everything ordinary about life, there are times when it can be lonely and tiring. After few weeks on the road, hopping from one city to another, that very first night at Vienna, I admit, I was lonely and tired.

So I spent my evening seeking the quietness of St. Stephen’s Cathedral not because I’m a religious person, but simply because what I wanted was to be still and reflect.
vienna

I sat inside the church and listen to the choir singing a beautiful melody in language that I don’t understand but nonetheless gave me the serenity that I needed that day.

I know I can be sentimental at times, actually it was my birthday and that’s my excuse.
vienna

11 thoughts on “Hofburg Palace & St. Stephen’s Cathedral (Stephansdom) Vienna, Austria

  1. You are getting really good at taking pictures. That day looked so beautiful and bright and full of promise. I am so jealous of the places you have gone. My wanderlust is soon to be tamped down by my own wheels on the road.

  2. Your photos always amaze me! I am looking to buy a good quality camera for myself, what camera did you use to take these photos? The quality is fantastic!

    1. Hi Sophia, thank you very much. Im currently using fujifilm x20. Maybe you would like to checkout similar camera or micro four thirds range. They are reliable camera and good for travelling.

Leave a Reply

