Charles Bridge (Karlův most), Prague, Czech Republic

prague

“Prague won’t let you go, the little mother has claws.” Franz Kafka
prague

The first time I walked along Charles Bridge I was extremely impressed, however the overwhelming number of visitors did not make the experience one of kind. I knew that it’s impossible to expect a popular tourist destination to be uncrowded but I also knew that if I don’t see Charles Bridge when everything is quite, well maybe not totally quite I don’t mind having musicians around to carry a tune or two, it will be something that I will personally regret.
prague
prague

The following day I woke up when it was still dark and cold, skipped the free breakfast at the hostel and made my way to the bridge. It was bit of a walk from my hostels towards the bridge, but the distance doesn’t matter in a city like Prague where every step on its cobbled stone street is a fascination itself.
prague

With the early morning fog blanketing the city, the ambiance was mystical and serene describing everything that I hope for and imagine it to be, as to what it feels like to wake up in a city like Prague.
prague
prague

From the distance, I can hear the soft clashes of the wave of Vltava River and once the fog cleared up, I can see portion of the 16 arches of the magnificent Gothic-style Charles Bridge linking Prague two world- the Old Town and the Lesser Town (Malá Strana).

Along the Vltava River are flocks of swans who seems to be enjoying the morning as well and emerging from the river are few fishermen and their boats.
prague
prague
prague

There were handful of visitors around and Charles Bridge was not entirely deserted, however it was definitely better than going mid-day or in the afternoon.
prague
prague

I took my time walking along the 516 meters long bridge, stopping and admiring each Baroque statues. The feeling was different, it was fulfilling not only for photographic purpose but I appreciate the bareness, the calmness, the mystic of it all.
prague
prague

Each morning nuns walks end to end of the bridge as part of their praying rituals and they stop from time to time at one of the many statues. I touched most statues that I came across not for religious purpose but more on relying into the belief that touching the statue is supposed to bring good luck and ensure one’s return to Prague.

I was still in Prague but all I could think of is coming back to Prague.
prague
prague
prague
prague
prague
prague
prague
prague
prague
prague

Commissioned by Czech King and Holy Roman Emperor Charles IV, built in 1357 and said to be constructed by mixing egg yolk into the mortar to strengthen the foundation, Charles Bridge without any doubt is one of the most beautiful bridge in the world.
prague
prague
prague
prague
prague
prague

The amount of pictures I have taken on Charles Bridge alone occupies a huge portion in my hard disk space. I took so many photographs trying to capture everything significant about this place and and yet it seems like that every frame I took was never good enough. Maybe it is suffice to say that I tried my best to capture the essence of Charles Bridge, but in no means that its magic can be reduce into pixels.
prague
prague

13 thoughts on “Charles Bridge (Karlův most), Prague, Czech Republic

  1. I love your post about Prague, your amazing images are speaking that you fell in love with that beautiful city……. so did I a few years ago, visiting Prague in winter time…. it snowed and I enjoyed the calmness and sound of the falling snow…. there free concerts in almost every church, since it was close to Christmas time. Thank you for sharing

Leave a Reply

