The Minnewater and The Beguinage (Begijnhof) of Bruges, Belgium

bruges
To appreciate a town like Bruges, one must wander when the town is still asleep, just when the young has returned from their pub crawl and the daytime tourists are no where yet to be seen.
bruges begijnhof

I woke up as early as five in the morning, with a disappointing weather yesterday, I know I will regret not seeing Bruges all over again, I am not yet ready to part ways with its small town charm. I have a hunger to soak into its medieval vibe and own its cobbled street when still empty.
bruges begijnhof
bruges begijnhof
bruges begijnhof
bruges begijnhof
bruges begijnhof
bruges begijnhof
bruges begijnhof
bruges begijnhof
bruges begijnhof

Walking on empty streets and seeing the town without all the touristy facade, Bruges is at the peak of its beauty. I can finally say this is the exact reason why I wanted to be here in the first place.
bruges begijnhof
bruges begijnhof
bruges begijnhof

The best place to spend a quiet morning in Bruges is to walk along the canal path towards the Minnewater and the Beguinage (Begijnhof).

The flocks of swan, the remaining autumn foliage, the towering castles in the background, the morning fog and just the over-all stillness is how I will always be reminded of Minnewater.
bruges begijnhof
bruges begijnhof

Behind Minnewater is Beguinage, home of the beguines of Bruges for the past centuries and currently to Benedectine Sisters.
bruges begijnhof

Beguinage or Begijnhof in Dutch is series of houses surrounded by garden with tall poplar trees. It is one of the most picturesque and tranquil place across town. No matter what time is it on a day, the Beguinage offers a shelter of calmness for those looking to breakaway from all the crowd of the Markt and Burg.
bruges begijnhof

I followed the flocks of swans as they swam across the canal and spend a considerable amount of time just watching them.
bruges begijnhof

I peeked at window display of closed shops, in a child-like wonder of wanting to eat that bar of chocolates or owning that doll.
bruges begijnhof
bruges begijnhof
bruges begijnhof
bruges begijnhof

I entered the smallest alleyways I could find, feeling small against the towering walls, never minding if it will lead me to a dead end or I will get lost.
bruges begijnhof
bruges begijnhof
bruges begijnhof

To walk in Bruges on a beautiful morning such as this with a headphone on is unfitting, for it is a rare chance to see this town on its bare beauty.

Sometimes with all the hustle and bustle in life, these quiet morning are becoming elusive and if there is a chance to experience one do it as often as you can.

Thank you Bruges for giving me this morning.
bruges begijnhof

12 thoughts on “The Minnewater and The Beguinage (Begijnhof) of Bruges, Belgium

  1. I visited Bruges once to go and see Tori Amos live at a festival in 2010. Stunning place, I just wish I had more time to explore!

  2. Hello Luna. Thank you for stopping by my site. Really amazing pictures you have of Brugge. Greetings from Blankenberge at the Belgian coast, a neighbour town of Brugge.

    1. Hi Marc, nice meeting you and thank you very much! It’s always inspiring to hear positive feedback from someone who came from or reside on places I visited.
      Hopefully one day, I’ll get a chance to visit Belgium once again.

Leave a Reply

