Under the Bridge at Han River, Seoul, South Korea

han river
All the walking around and associated planning on what to do and what to see is no doubt a fun and fulfilling affair however I wanted to have a break, I wanted to finish my Seoul trip with something special yet laid back.

I remember the first day I arrived in Seoul, I took a bus from the airport towards my hostel at Jongno-gu, the bus passed by this beautiful red bridge over the river, it was just everything I hope Seoul will look like in one frame. That specific frame got me so excited about this trip and I said to myself that I have to spend at least half day to visit the bridge and the river after I crossed out all the museums, palaces and markets from my list.

Took the subway heading to the southern part of Seoul stopping at Jamsil Station, the intention was not only to visit the Han River (Hangang) but to spend an hour walking around Seokchon Lake Park.
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park

Seokchon Lake Park or Songpa Naru Park is a result of a riverbed development project that formed a separate lake form the water of the Han River. The park is a popular place on cherry blossom season and a year round favorite place for jogging and weekend relaxation.
hangang river-seokchon lake park

Near the lake stand two popular attractions- the theme park called Lotte World and across is the Lotte Mall & Hotel. A new construction is underway for what claim to be the next second tallest building in the world, the Lotte World Tower.
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park

From the Seokchon Lake Park reaching the Han River is an easy walk through a pedestrian section of the highway towards the Cloud Café. From the café, I took the elevator down and finally under the Jamsilgyo (bridge), one of the 27 bridges that intersects the Han River.
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park

It was a quiet and lovely afternoon. I was expecting a crowded boardwalk but there were only handful of us savoring a beautiful day.
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park

The historical Han River is one of the best thing about Seoul, I would have regretted visiting Seoul without getting close to the river. The construction of cycling path and boardwalk mixed with flora and fauna is a remarkable effort on connecting the historical Han River to the city residents.
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park

A personal favorite is standing under the bridge, how it makes you feel small and for instant put things into perspective- the trip, yourself and the things you tried to escape for a moment.
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park

My Seoul trip was quite good. I stayed in a great hostel, met a lot of nice people and never had any issue exploring the city, everything has been fairly easy and convenient and I can see myself living in this city.

I never made it to the red bridge but I made it to the Han River, it sums up everything I was looking for in Seoul.

Thanks Seoul, until next time.
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park
hangang river-seokchon lake park

13 thoughts on “Under the Bridge at Han River, Seoul, South Korea

Leave a Reply

