The End of Indochina Trip: From Laos to Thailand Border Crossing

to bkk
There is an excitement associated with dreaming about places you wanted to see, to put plans into motion and to finally see the places once doodled in your notebook is a blessing in every sense, and when things are about to end there is this unexplained mixed feeling of wanting to celebrate that achievement and yet there is a part that wanted to hop into the next overnight sleeper bus, cross another border and another border and just never stop.

But all good things must come to an end and I must go back to the normal routine called life.

From Luang Prabang, I made my way back to Vientiane in order to do the final border crossing towards Bangkok, thus officially ending my Indochina loop. No more sleeper bus this time around but an overnight train ride from Thanaleng Station at Vientiane to Bangkok Hua Lamphong station.
to bkk
to bkk
to bkk

It was an end of an amazing journey not only for me but for the rest of the tourists aboard the smaller train that will take us to the Nong Khai, the Thailand side of the border. Everyone cheered, clapped, hugged each other, put their heads outside the train window and screamed in celebration, as we passed by the bridge above the Mekong River that connects Thailand and Laos.
to bkk
to bkk

Found my train berth, settled comfortably and slept well on the upper bank bed and woke up the next day at Bangkok.
to bkk
to bkk

Back to where it all started, at Hua Lamphong station.

Seeing this guy standing in front of the ticket counter maybe trying to figure out which train he needed to take reminded me of my self several weeks back, I once stood on the same spot trying to figure out the same thing.
to bkk
to bkk
to bkk

I can’t still let go of travelling, still can’t let go of shelving my backpack once again and the idea of going back to everything that I tried to temporarily break away from scares me a little, I still have a few days to go before heading home and I was hoping to maximize it as much as possible.

I don’t think I will find the encouragement on the streets of Bangkok but anyways it would be good to see the city once again.
to bkk
to bkk
to bkk
to bkk
to bkk
to bkk
to bkk
to bkk
to bkk
to bkk
to bkk
to bkk
to bkk
to bkk
to bkk
to bkk
to bkk

This is the end of the Indochina adventures and looking forward to what lies ahead.
Let’s Go!
to bkk

4 thoughts on “The End of Indochina Trip: From Laos to Thailand Border Crossing

Leave a Reply

