Chasing Sunset at Mekong River, Laos

mekong river
A fiery explosion of orange, yellow and red in the sky, a silhouette of a fisherman paddling away from me, towards the middle of the Mekong River, and my eyes on the viewfinder, my hands anticipating ready to release the shutter button at any moment and capture perfection.

How would you describe a sunset view?
mekong river
mekong river
mekong river

Then there it was before it disappears, creating a glistening reflection against the waters of Mekong and illuminating the line of boats resting for a day.
mekong river
mekong river
mekong river
mekong river

On a distant view, all I can make up is the shape of non la (traditional hat), how small the lone fisherman and his boat appears to be on vast and endless waters of Mekong River.
mekong river

A few moments ago, I was teasing this group of kids playing at one of the docked boat to bring me across the opposite shore for 1,000 kip.

They smartly offer a ride of 5,000 kip on what appears to be a damaged, unsteady and sinking boat. I jokingly told them that if they don’t agree to take me, I will throw the kid standing beside me into the river; the response that I received was non-stop laughter and if I can capture innocence and happiness, this must be it.
mekong river
mekong river
mekong river
mekong river
mekong river
mekong river
mekong river

Just in time for supper, before the sky turns golden and before everything goes dark but the boat still half empty.

They are still waiting for people to occupy the remaining seats before they sail away from another day of hard work at Luang Prabang, towards home, towards the villages along the riverbanks of Mekong.
mekong river
mekong river
mekong river

The next day I woke up early hoping to catch a glimpse of sunrise, but the odds are not in my favor, it is cold and foggy at Mekong River and yet it remains to be its charming self.

It is quite and calm, everyone asleep, and the surrounding mountains sheltering the river and me from the outside world.
mekong river
mekong river
mekong river
mekong river

To see a perfect sunset is one of the best thing in life and to see the Mekong River is a dream come true.

11 thoughts on “Chasing Sunset at Mekong River, Laos

Leave a Reply

