Perfect Unpredictable Weather at Cu Dai and An Bang Beach of Hoi An, Vietnam

hoi an beach
I woke up to the sound of the rain, a weather indication that contradicts my plan. I am looking forward to spending a lazy day at two beaches of Hoi An, both easily reachable by my rented bicycle.

After two cups of Vietnamese coffee, a quick consultation to the map and a hope that the weather will improve somehow I made my way to the beach passing by local residential houses.
hoi an beach
hoi an beach
hoi an beach
hoi an beach

I was greeted by the clashes of waves at the deserted Cua Dai beach. With very few people around, I put down my towel, sit back and savor the quietness and gloominess of the area.
hoi an beach

I stared at the ocean, counted one, two, three in unison with the waves as it hits the shore, a warning to move location, move up my towel and belongings in case of another strong wave.

One, two, three I am safe. Four, well, the water is just getting high, so I move myself higher far from the shore line and comfortably decided that I was finally at the safe unreachable spot.

I lied down, close my eyes and just enjoy hearing the roaring of the sea, I was in a trance like state of calmness when suddenly a huge splash of water came rushing down towards me, giving me no time to react I was soaked wet together with all my stuff.
hoi an beach
hoi an beach
hoi an beach
hoi an beach
hoi an beach

Almost everyone quietly enjoying the empty Cua Dai Beach under this unfavorable weather was an unsuspecting victim, including that guy peacefully sleeping few meters away from me.
hoi an beach

After few hours, the weather seems to improve a bit and the crowd at Cua Dai Beach started to grow, just the right time to pack my stuff and to cycle my way towards the next beach destination.
hoi an beach
hoi an beach
hoi an beach
hoi an beach

After parking my bicycle, first thing I noticed are the line of coracle rescue boats, cabanas and restaurants facing the East Sea, a development on what used to be a lesser known An Bang beach.
hoi an beach
hoi an beach
hoi an beach
hoi an beach
hoi an beach

The mid-day weather still not improving, struggling between the disappearing sunshine and formation of storm from afar, though not giving any reason for visitors like me not to love this day, after all both Cua Dai and An Bang are free access for everyone to enjoy.
hoi an beach
hoi an beach
hoi an beach
hoi an beach

Cycling back to my hostel while passing by farm lands is just a perfect way to end what has been already a perfect day, even that unpredictable weather is a blessing.
hoi an beach
hoi an beach
hoi an beach

With the impressive old town and empty beautiful beaches both bicycle away, Hoi An will not disappoint anyone looking forward to an action-packed yet laid back vacation.

6 thoughts on “Perfect Unpredictable Weather at Cu Dai and An Bang Beach of Hoi An, Vietnam

  1. Look at those beaches! Here in Tokyo we’re shivering after the heaviest snowfall in 45 years: up to 60 cm in certain areas. Don’t you wish you were here? 😉 PS: Officially missing your Japan posts very much, but loving your further adventures.

  2. hello, again… nice story and wonderful pics. btw, love the Cu Dai shore shots – is the shore, the sand really red? it provides a very nice contrast to the waves. really, their boats are circular? very interesting. love the An Bang photos as well, especially the second one. and hey, the snapshots of the countryside gives a reader a good feeling. they look like rural Phils. also, ahaha. many thanks, orchid… 🙂

Leave a Reply

