Barahi Temple at Phewa Tal & Lazy Days Ahead at LakeSide, Pokhara, Nepal

barahi temple (phewa tal)
The next day after ending my six days hiking trip, after what could be one of the most fulfilling sleep I ever had for a long time, I woke up to a sunny yet cold morning at the town of Pokhara.

Though my legs still not fully recovered from six days walking across the mountain villages, right after breakfast, I immediately seek the calming comfort bought by simply staring at Phewa Tal (Phewa Lake).
phewa tal

I am planning to spend the next days doing exactly like this- spent most of the time at the lake side, drink coffee, ride a boat and read a book, all these while waiting for my mood to dictate that I need to get going towards my next destination.

There is definitely something magical about Phewa Tal, as if every time you see it is always the first time- the line of purple boats, the mountains in the background and that small island across.
barahi temple (phewa tal)
barahi temple (phewa tal)
barahi temple (phewa tal)

The small island is a Hindu temple called Bahari, this I found out after asking around and observing the number of boats sailing across while carrying passengers holding an offering baskets.
barahi temple (phewa tal)

I paid a roundtrip boat ride of 50 rupees and made my way towards the temple in a packed wooden boat along with the numerous visitors intending to start their day with prayers.
barahi temple (phewa tal)
barahi temple (phewa tal)
barahi temple (phewa tal)

The temple is quite small in size, mainly adorned with both pigeon statues and mixed with actual pigeons also populating the small island.
barahi temple (phewa tal)
barahi temple (phewa tal)
barahi temple (phewa tal)

It is a thing of beauty to see generations of family as they bond together and practice their faith.
barahi temple (phewa tal)
barahi temple (phewa tal)
barahi temple (phewa tal)
barahi temple (phewa tal)

After my visit to the temple, I spend the remainder of the day walking back and forth across the lake side mainly visiting second hand bookshops and in search of a perfect book and a spot where I can spend the coming days in peace and quite.
lake side
lake side
lake side
lake side
lake side
lake side
lake side

This is the spot I found.
phewa tal
phewa tal

6 thoughts on “Barahi Temple at Phewa Tal & Lazy Days Ahead at LakeSide, Pokhara, Nepal

  1. I’m really enjoying seeing Lake Phewa again. The boats still look the same after the years since I was there. It is such a peaceful place. Enjoy your rest there!

Leave a Reply

