Dear Trekker’s, Your Donation is Education: Day Four Hiking in Nepal

nepal day 3 hike
A bowl of muesli and fruits for breakfast served by my Nepali brother, I am freshly showered, energized and ready to leave the village of Tadapani and take on another 6 hours up and down walk across the mountain villages.
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike

According to my guide today will be an easy walk downhill, with an additional encouragement that our final destination for the day is famous for hot spring, something that will be wonderful to have after another day of non-stop walking.

Day 4 can be summarize as a walk along terraces of farmlands and villages. With another sunny day, the hike is overall pleasant and has a lot of photography opportunity. It is kind of sad though, that as we move further away, the magnificent Annapurna mountains slowly disappears right before our eyes.
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike

After an hour descend, we passed by another guesthouse where I met a Sherpa (mountain man). Together with my guide we talked for a while mainly conversing about our destination for today, about the river down below and how far does it reaches.
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike

Continuing our descend, it feels like we are walking from one mountain after another mountain, climbing downhill is surely a knee jerking experience. Following our agreement, my guide Sujan was always walking few meters ahead of me while I slowly make my way down.

Farmfields and smaller villages are what mostly expected to see along the trail while overlooking at the distance is a mirage of mountains and rice terraces. It makes me wonder how many smaller communities are there, beyond each mountains, beyond what the usual hikers passes by.
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike

After crossing bridges that connects each community, we will be climbing another smaller mountain to reach our final stop over. But it is time for lunch and I need my daily supplies of fried noodles and eggs. Finally we arrived at Gurguang town.

If you trek in Nepal, it is normal to see donation box similar to this one asking for a bit of donation in order to fund either community schools, waterworks, etc. For this particular route, we passed by a small village school for prep level.
nepal hike day 4nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike

I entered the school yard and greeted both the teachers and school kids. A brief discussion with the teachers resulted in the conclusion that though the school is funded by the government the allocated budget is not enough to have an adequate facilities, same reason why donation from trekkers is an important contribution. On a similar note, I shared with them the same stories back home where similar school are often forgotten by the government.

How I admire the teachers who relentlessly go to school everyday to teach and these kids who crosses mountain everyday to learn. We had a brief conversation about the importance of education. All in all it was not a serious talk, somehow they cannot belive that I am not Nepali.
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike

After an hour break, we started the remaining two hours journey to reach our destination for the day- Jhinu.
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike

Though the Annapurna mountains has completely disappeared from our view, what I like the most about the succeeding journey is seeing the golden rice terraces.

The terrain initially consists of uphill and downhill combination but after thrity minutes, it was the painful task of going all the way down. Supposed to be easy right? Not for me.
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike

If I have to describe this day, it will not be blue or white but gold. The golden rice terraces which I was seeing from afar few hours ago is the same fields that I am walking closely.
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike

Finally after descending another mountain, we reached Jhinu. Few minutes rest, we began our descend to the river, towards the hot spring area. My guide Sujan was overly excited, this must be the part of the journey he was looking forward the most, he was running in the woords, so eager to reach the waters in no time.
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike

The hot spring is located exactly beside the Modi River and an additional twenty minutes walk downhill from the town of Jhinu is required. Despite my legs not being able to move any longer, I was looking forward to soak my beaten body on the hot water. Thinking just how good it will feel, I started to run downhill too.
nepal day 4 hike
nepal day 4 hike

Entrance fee of 50 Rupees, there were several tourist already enjoying the natural spring water on the tub. I stripped down to my bra and shorts and just submerged myself to my so-called reward for the day.

Bring it on Day 5, I am ready.
nepal day 4 hike

Day 4:
Tadapani – Gurguang – Jhinu – Modi River

8 thoughts on “Dear Trekker’s, Your Donation is Education: Day Four Hiking in Nepal

Leave a Reply

