Prayer Flags and Coffee Breaks: From Ghorepani to Tadapani, Day Three Hiking in Nepal

nepal day 3 hikeAfter thirty minutes break at Gurung Hill its time to head back to the trail…

The succeeding hike remains to be both easy and pleasant. Any trail surrounded by trees is good for me and to make thing even better for most part it is a walk downhill. With residue of light snowfall on the dried leaves, an indication of the coming colder winter days, but for now
the weather is just perfect- not to hot, not to cold.
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike

Instead of arrows pointing us to the right direction, what serve as our lead are the prayer flags. According to Sujan, though some my consider Nepal as the predominantly Hindu religion country, most of the mountain villagers are Buddhists, thus prayer flags and stupa made of stones are both common sight along the trail.
nepal hike day 3
nepal day 3 hike

Another coffee break at the village of Duerli.
Here I met another guide who is currently on break and now studying Japanese language on his own, on the hopes that the next hiking season more Japanese tourists will be coming in. He is quite eager to practice and converse with me in Japanese after learning that I worked in Japan before but I told him that I lack the skills to do so. Instead, I shared with him stories about Japan over a cup of instant UCC Coffee that I have with me.
While we are exchanging stories, his sister also on school break is busy grinding coffee the old fashion way.
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike

More steps downward. Should I be happy about this? I have the feeling that in the next coming hours I will soon be regretting this small moments of happiness walking downhill.
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike

Lunch break at the village of Banthathi.
Surrounding mountain view, the sound of the river flowing nearby,my belly full of fried eggs and noodles, can I have an hour nap please?
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike

We returned back to our hike after an hour break. True to what I fear earlier, the trail compensates for every downhill walk we had earlier, now it is nothing but a non-stop walk uphill in order to reach the 2026m elevated town of Tadapani.
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike

At almost 3pm, we arrived at Tadapani. Another amazing view of Annapurna Mountains straight from my room window.
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike
nepal day 3 hike

The town of Tadapani relies solely on solar power. The emergency flashlight and headlamp that I have with me came handy in the evening as there was no light except the few candles provided by the teahouse.

After dinner and a cup of tea at the common room, I went back to my room, once again hide inside my sleeping bag and call it a night.

Spending only three days in the mountain, I often dream about my childhood. Not sure why, but somehow memories long forgotten often rushes back to me, maybe because I have more time to free my mind from internet, work, problems, maybe life in general.

Good night.
nepal day 3 hike

Day 3:
Ghorepani – Gurung Hill – Duerli – Banthati – Tadapani

5 thoughts on “Prayer Flags and Coffee Breaks: From Ghorepani to Tadapani, Day Three Hiking in Nepal

  1. Hi there~ I’ve been following your blog for awhile, but have never left a comment! Just wanted to mention that I recently traveled to Taiwan for the first time and relied on your posts for some ideas on where to go, so thanks for providing me with some inspiration and a starting point 🙂

    Anyway, I digress haha. Lovely photos as always; Nepal looks stunning. I’m quite envious of all your amazing travel adventures. Hope to see many more 🙂

    1. Hi Charlene, glad that I was able to offer suggestions on what to see in Taiwan. how was your trip? amazing country right?
      i’m trying to see the world as much as I can 🙂 so bear with me as I shift my blog posts from one place to another 🙂

Leave a Reply

