Be Magical! Tokyo Disneyland

Call it peer pressure or what, after much convincing I finally gave in and joined my colleague to visit Mickey Mouse and company at Tokyo Disneyland.  Honestly, I have no interest or whatsoever to go to this place, even though it’s a mere hour train ride and the admission fee is not too expensive by Japan standard. I just feel like there are far more interesting things to do in this country  and Disneyland is just for kids, but I was dead wrong.

tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
Yup, that’s me, hugging Mickey Mouse so tight as if he was my long-lost brother. Good thing that I gave into peer pressure!

tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland

I don’t remember the last time where I was smiling for a whole day; it was such a carefree feeling to be like kid again even for a day, never mind that you need to wait for an hour or so, to enjoy a ride or to visit Mickey Mouse at his home. Despite the fact that the outdoor weather registers a freezing 0 deg. Celsius, from babies on strollers to elderly on wheelchair- everyone was just having fun and the weather gives plenty of opportunity for couples to stroll hand in hand wearing matching Disney winter headgear.

tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
Call me silly but my childhood dream is to ride Alice’s giant teacups. So, when I saw one, I excitedly took my chance.  I thought it will be a slow pace ride since everyone on the line with me is mostly kids under 5.  It was spinning so fast that I need to close my eyes half of the time.

tokyo disneyland
Next stop is the “It’s a Small World” ride where you will move along a canal on-board a small boat which navigate its way inside  tunnels where the song “It’s a Small World” are sang on different languages by dolls representing the World’s Children.

tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
The iconic Disneyland castle is mesmerizing. It’s like a giant gate that promises a truly magical day to anyone who decided to enter.  Inside the castle are Cinderella’s glass shoes and her fairytale love story. I tried the glass shoes but the size is a bit small.

tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
Spending a few minutes aboard the Mark Twain’s Riverboat as it navigates Fort Sam Clemens on Tom Sawyer Island is comparable to a needed rest after all the walking around and screaming at the Space Mountain.  I read somewhere that Tokyo Disneyland is the only place who still keeps Fort Clemens, Country Bear Christmas and other adventure land attraction on their list, making this particular Disneyland better than the other foreign counterparts.

Since we still have time before the evening parade starts, we decided to spend the remaining hours at the Critter Country to try the Splash Mountain. It’s kind of cute to see teenagers practicing how to scream and pose at the same time, since there is a picture taking moment at the peak of the ride. With few minutes left, we visited the Haunted Mansion, which showcase really amazing CGI and hologram works.

I love both parades- the one in the afternoon and that one at night which showcase millions lights.  I can’t help myself but wave at every character passing in front of me and if they wave back, my smile reaches from ear to ear.
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland
tokyo disneyland

We were at Tokyo Disneyland from the opening hours to closing. It was tiring but worth every aching bone in my body. The next day is another 10 hours work day. On my way home, for some reason  I kept on singing “Someday, my prince will come…”.  Disneyland Hangover, indeed.

Leave a Reply

