Newton’s Apple Tree at Koishikawa Botanical Garden

What draws me to visit this garden is not because of my utmost interest at Botany or my passion on pronouncing those scientific names, but mainly to see the descendant of that famous apple tree that said to inspire a guy named Sir Isaac Newton to formulate the Law of Gravity.

Standing besides Newton’s apple tree is another equally famous plant named  as Gregor Mendel’s grape vine, which is said to be an offshoot of the plant used for research by the scientist accredited for the discovery of genetics.  Not to far from both prestigious plants, is another scientifically vital tree (Ginkgo Tree) where “sperm” was discovered by a Japanese scientist name Sakuguro Hirase. Don’t ask me why there is a sperm or something, I don’t know.

Located at one of the quietest residential town in outer-Tokyo (Bunkyo-ku), Koishikawa Botanical Garden boasts itself not only for sheltering some of the most important plants that help scientific breakthroughs but as one of oldest in Japan. With a collection of 4,000 plant species, the garden is maintained by the Graduate School of University of Tokyo for research and education purpose.

Open for public viewing with an entrance fee of 330 Japanese Yen, I recommend visiting the garden for those who are looking for an alternate weekend activity. You might say that there are other parks equally beautiful on other places in Tokyo (nearby some shopping district) and there is no need to go outskirts but visiting this one is a good educational journey for kids and a good reminder of how important trees and plants on human existence.

See the dominant color in the garden-  red, orange.. Autumn is here.

4 thoughts on “Newton’s Apple Tree at Koishikawa Botanical Garden

  1. My first (indignant) response: “There’s no apple tree in Koishikawa Kōrakuen!” Then I realised oops, it’s the other one, the botanical garden. Blush.

    My second response: “Higanbana?! In June???” Then I realized you’d originally written this post in October. Not sure why it appeared in my “blogs updates”, but I’m very glad it did. It reminded me that this is, indeed, a great garden and that it’s about time I visited it again. Thanks! ^^

  2. I love the filter on the photos, especially on the butterfly one. Tokyo has some great gardens hidden in the suburbs. My favorite so far is Rikugien, which I’ve blogged about before.

    Regarding the date, I had the same reaction as Rurousha – did you back-date this entry?

    1. thanks Leah !
      trying to update the blog theme and revisited some of my old post, i might accidentally click something🙂
      sorry bout that!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s